no Soup for you! Picture Challenge

As a follow-up to the ‘soup and grant funding’ video-

I didn’t end up going to last month’s SLOUP meeting. I’m planning for the performance of The Type One Project to occur near the Walk for Diabetes which in st. Louis happens in early October, so it seemed pointless to me to ask for grant funding so many months in advance. Mostly what the funding will be used for is theater rental which is extremely pricey.

Right now I’m trying to do some of my own choreography work here in St. Louis over the summer. I am working on a show that will be completely free to attend- largely because it will be an outdoor performance. I’m working with four of the lovely ladies from Missouri Ballet Theatre. More details to come on that.

Anyways, mostly I didn’t make it to Sloup last month because life got busy, but also the directions to the location for the meeting were really shady. Anyone who knows me knows that I am ALWAYS lost behind the wheel ( I don’t have a GPS…or any sense of direction) and these sounded both confusing and scary. It was something like,

‘take blah-blah highway, turn right at the car park.

find a wooden staircase and go up.

if lost call this number’

I am not kidding on that wooden staircase line. That is really what it said. Is it just me or does that sound like the beginning of either a swashbuckling pirate/treasure hunt tale or a horror movie? Like ‘The Hills Have Eyes’, but ‘The Hills Have Arts’ I’m pretty sure I would have only gone if Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow from ‘Pirates of the Caribbean’ was my personal body-guard. I bet I could bribe him with endless yummy soup- the rum might be gone, my captain, but there’s food aplenty. And if we had to make a quick escape we could rope some sea turtles…..near the car park in st. louis Missouri. (If you aren’t familiar with the pirate of the Caribbean movies, I apologize for the inside jokes)

birthday cake for emily lingen- 2006

When I was a kid I was CONVINCED that there was treasure buried in my backyard. I used to draw my own maps and then pretend to ‘find’ them giving me just cause to dig little holes all over the place. I may not have ever found treasure, but I did find a lot of onion grass.

In the sense of adventure and art-appreciation, here’s a two-part challenge:

There are four hidden animals in the first picture. This is from the children’s book ‘Puzzle Island’ which was one of my favorites as kid. The animals to find are:      a pig, an ape an owl, and a fox.

Challenge two (plus a dance lesson): X MARKS THE SPOT OF BAD DANCING- his sketch shows the dancer sketch from the Spring to Dance program on the right. There is something SERIOUSLY WRONG with the technique and placement of this dancer (no it’s not the hands, I just got lazy). Can you spot the problem that I have corrected?

Where your heart is, there will your treasure be also” -( Apparently this is from Matthew in the Bible, but I most recently came across it in P. Coelho’s ‘The Alchemist’)

I guess with my love for dance, my treasure is stuck in the pages of the program, no matter how bad the representation of technique might be. Either that or my heart, like my imaginary treasure, is still buried in the backyard between the onion grass and the dirt.

4 thoughts on “no Soup for you! Picture Challenge

  1. “Where your heart is, there will your treasure be also”…is in HP!!! Which reminds me, I had a HP cake for my 16th bday and a pirate cake for my 20th…i will never grow up

Leave a Reply

