Feedback and Photo Candy

I cannot believe it has been a month since the Black Top Ballet show.

It was such a fulfilling, exhilarating, and exhausting experience, getting a show together, choreographing, rehearsing, dancing, and of course, hoping that the cops wouldn’t show up and shut down the performance since I didn’t have a permit (maybe I shouldn’t admit this over the internet either?)

I recently was able to attend and review the ‘Saint Louis Tap Festival Showcase’ which brought in the most amazing dancers and performers- people who have danced for Alicia Keys, Kanye West, Savion Glover, the Rockettes, in the movie ‘Happy Feet’,  Arthur Duncan from ‘The Lawrence Welk Show’ , MC Cloris Leachman, and Mr. Noodle on Sesame Street, Bill Irwin. The event was celebrating it’s 20th Anniversary and honored the founder, Professor Robert L. Reed, a tap legend in his own right. Impressed? With me, I mean, because I was ASKED to come and review. Just Kidding.  (You can read my review on the dance page at http://slfp.com )

One of my favorites from the show was a hip-hop crew from Chicago called, ‘Stick’N’Move’. They encouraged a lot of audience participation, saying, ‘the more energy you give us, the more we can give you’.

This is so true with all performers. I included a little survey on the back of the program for the BlackTop show, and was so moved and inspired to do more from the feedback I received. Here’s a little sample of the program notes as well as things people said:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This person is clearly a genius (or, just guessing, my friend Bryan) Also, please notice the huge mistake in the date on the front of the program, which reads: July 9th, 2012. So if you missed out, apparently you have eleven months to clear your calendar since the production is taking place in the future. Oops to the printer.

More funny suggestions for improvement included: candy, to have the people sitting in front three inches shorter, and for it to be ten degrees cooler. (Good news, for the next location: stadium seats and it won’t be July! I’ll see what I can do about the candy)

I hope that those of you who couldn’t make the show enjoy the photos- it’s a small taste of what we all worked so hard on.

As of now, I’m working on another piece that will again, be an outdoor and free show. More details to come on that. And I’m about to get started with casting the ‘Type One Project’ since I’m hoping for that performance to take place around the time-frame of the ‘Walk for the Cure’. In St. Louis, this happens in early October.

One last thing, in case you haven’t already filled your ‘info on Jess’ quota for the day, a dance blog did an interview on me, so I’m sharing a link. I would like to add that they did not whatsoever edit my answers that I sent to the questions. I’m going to assume that I’m either a perfect grammatician (if that’s even a word) or that, like me, there are some lazy bloggers out there.

http://www.allarounddance.com/blog/interview-with-jessica-ruhlin-professional-dancer/

One thought on “Feedback and Photo Candy

Leave a Reply

