Mawwaige bwings us togever…today

I’m taking  a break from procrastinating working on my Grad School Application torture stuff, and the piece I’m writing for Alive’s January/ Bridal Issue. I’m so excited that I’ll see my name in print but I’m really struggling with a title. I hate turning to alliteration, but I may have to..Wow Weddings! Worldly Weddings….All of my ideas are terrible. At our editorial meeting, I suggested a ‘Wedding Vow Mad-libs’ so if they include that, please note that the idea came from yours truly.

My dream Ring...I sooooo do!

In fact: here’s a treat further way for  me to avoid real work: Please list:

1. your name

2. another persons name

3. adjective

4. transitive verb (note- a transitive verb is a verb that needs a related object in the sentence. A good hint is any word that describes an active emotion; ie: desire, prefer, accept, or anything that needs ‘to’ in front of it- to kick, to lacerate)

5. transitive verb

6.  name of illness or ailment

7. verb

8.noun

9. noun.

10. article of clothing

11. transitive verb

12. verb

13. adjective

14. noun

15. noun

16. article of clothing

17. verb

18. name of a singer/performer

19. adjective

20. name of a place

21. adverb (words ending in ‘ly’)

*Note- please read in the style of ‘the Impressive Clergyman’ from ‘The Princess Bride’….and tweausre youw wuv!

Do you, your name, take other person’s name, to be your adjective wedded spouse?

Do you promise to transitive verb and transitive verb them, in name of illness and in health as long as you both shall verb?

I now pronounce you noun and noun. You may now lift the article of clothing and transitive verb your spouse.

The congregation will please verb and greet the adjective couple.

Now cut the noun, toss the noun, remove the article of clothing, and verb on the dance floor to the musical stylings of name of singer/performer. Then wave goodbye to the adjective couple as they depart for their honeymoon in name of place. Adverb ever after!

 

6 thoughts on “Mawwaige bwings us togever…today

  1. Do you, Ali, take James Marsden, to be your sexy wedded spouse?
    Do you promise to cook and grade them, in scurvy and in health as long as you both shall eat?
    I now pronounce you couch and treadmill. You may now lift the socks and want your spouse.
    The congregation will please sleep and greet the furry couple.
    Now cut the apple, toss the chair, remove the hoodie, and guess on the dance floor to the musical stylings of Mick Jagger. Then wave goodbye to the stinky couple as they depart for their honeymoon in Paris. Heavily ever after!

    I loved Mad Libs when I was young! haha

  2. Do you, Emily, take Bynum, to be your glistening wedded spouse?

    Do you promise to invent and repair them, in irritable bowel syndrome and in health as long as you both shall stalk?

    I now pronounce you porch and lotion. You may now lift the socks and attack your spouse.

    The congregation will please reject and greet the odorous couple.

    Now cut the cheese, toss the shackles, remove the belt, and panic on the dance floor to the musical stylings of MC Hammer. Then wave goodbye to the slimey couple as they depart for their honeymoon in Bangkok. Evenly ever after!

    I nearly lost it when “cheese” happened to be what I put for number 14!

  3. Haha, you guys rock my socks off! I tried to forget the structure and here’s what I came up with:

    Do you, Jess, take Carrot top, to be your fuzzy wedded spouse?
    Do you promise to tolerate and wallop him in bird flu and in health for as long as you both shall boogie?
    I now pronounce you fork and computer. You may now lift the fedora and steal your spouse.
    The congregation will please bounce and greet the scientific couple.
    Now cut the lard, toss the cat, remove the back brace, and hang-glide on the dance floor to the musical stylings of Elmo. Then wave goodbye to the despicable couple as they depart for their honeymoon in Timbucktoo. Judiciously ever after.
    (Scientific couple? SCIENTIFIC!? ha)

Leave a Reply

