A Dictator in Hobbiton

Here are some things I am looking forward to:

1. Having this grad school application out of my hair!

2.  Movie Premiers of : The Hobbit ( yeah yeah, I know, I’m a nerd- also Richard Armitage is playing Thorin and I looove him)

and The Dictator– newest offensive offering from Sacha Baron Cohen n his newest historical character, you guessed it, Hitler

I was thinking: You know what would be hilarious? What if Sacha got in his German get-up and whoever is playing Bilbo in the Hobbit was decked out in curly wig and cape and what-nots that Shire-folk wear, and were delivered via limousine service to their sets buuuut….. what if the limo drivers got switched and accidentally delivered a Hobbit to Auschwitz and Hitler somehow landed in Middle Earth.. Who would be more out of place?

Hail Mein Wizard!

Anyways, I apologize for lack-luster posts of late. Both energy and motivation have been curled up in the fetal position. Time to get some clarity, decipher the sense from the mess,  and start looking ahead. Starting with fashion trends of course.

Ikat prints are supposed to be the next big thing. These are the sort-of psychedelic looking (usually) woven prints that kind of look like ink-blot tests, or those dizzying posters where you cross your eyes and let your mind wander and suddenly you’re supposed to see Jesus or something. I don’t really know how ikat is different from tie-dye and I refuse to research. If you’re curious, go to Parsons School of Design. or wikipedia.

I’m not really a big print-person but I do love the colors and abstract shapes found in the artwork of Lisa Solberg. Click on the name to visit her website. I love them all, especially this one. What do you make of it? I think it looks kind of like a magical cave with white fire. Maybe it’s where Hitler lives in Middle Earth with his elven Queen, named Aryan.

2 thoughts on “A Dictator in Hobbiton

Leave a Reply

