In the Invisibility tutu

You might be wondering, ‘what’s been going on with the most beautiful woman in the world recently?”

To that, I would say…. I don’t know. I don’t have Beyonce on speed dial. I do know that this little blogger has been a lazy grasshopper when it comes to upkeep on this site. I have important things to do you know, like doodling and painting my nails. Or maybe I was just hiding in my invisibility tutu.

Actually, a disappearing act is a warning sign for me. It’s not that I’ve been any more busy than usual, simply more overwhelmed with summer planning, life planning, etc. Some days I feel like I have so many things on my to-do list, and other days, I feel like I SHOULD be doing something to better secure my future but I don’t know what. And then there are those days when I just feel like I’m waiting for feedback, afraid that when it arrives it won’t be good. It’s enough to make me want to pull my hair out! Or should I say feathers, because sometimes that seems like what I have for brains anyways.

It’s a funny sort of stupid self sabatoge that I indulge in when I’m extra worried about whatever is weighing down my downy brain- I stop doing a lot of things that keep me happy, things like extra stretching or reading or doodling or writing this blog.  I don’t know why a lack of clarity or answers often seems to equal a lack of those happy activities, which no matter how stupid they seem, do keep me sane, functioning, and protected against further stresses. Could be that dreaded bird-brain again. Good reasoning skills Gentle Alouette! I’m curious what other people do to manage the feeling of being overwhelmed.

While on the subject of little things that keep us happy, I hope everyone enjoyed Mother’s Day. I have a dear friend who just had a baby so I sent this to her:

Opi makes, in my opinion, the best nail polish and I like these little minis made in collaboration with New York City Ballet. They do have absolutely awful titles, things like, ‘Pirouette my Whistle’ and ‘Don’t Touch my Tutu’, ‘My Pointe Exactly’ and ‘Care to Danse”- but I like the colors. There’s a soft grayish white, a neutral lilac, a gentle gray, and a silver sparkle that’s elegant, not garish. The sparkles look more like tiny pieces of confetti rather than overt glitter. The set of four is only about 12 bucks and makes a nice gift for girly dancer friends in need of a little pampering.

Whatever works, I say! Get back to the things you love! For me, that means this blog. (Interview with Kansas City Ballet principal Kimberly Cohen and a review of last weekend’s show from Common Thread Contemporary Dance Company coming this week.) I’m currently reading ‘Beatrice and Virgil’ by Yann Martel, which I’m thoroughly enjoying. There’s a scene in which one character tries to describe a pear that had me chuckling out loud. In the words of the immortal Mark Twain,

‘Against the assault of Laughter, Nothing can stand”.

And of course, I’m toting around my sketchbook so that I can illustrate the giants of literature delivering quotes of brilliance while wearing a tutu. (It makes me laugh anyways) I think it goes really well with his nail polish, wit, and mustache.

3 thoughts on “In the Invisibility tutu

  1. Lazy grasshopper? I saw those NYCB nail polishes at the store the other day. Seems sort of random, but I like it.

  2. Pingback: The Sun King | BODIES NEVER LIE

Leave a Reply

