Fashion Night Out- Fashionable Life In

I hope everyone had a wonderful Labor Day weekend filled with R&R, B&B’s, and D&D. Rest, Relaxation, Beds and Breakfast, and….extreme bra shopping. (Or drinks and dancing)

I’m about to head in to the studio for a much-needed technique class and to begin work on our piece for the upcoming ‘Dancing in the Streets’ Festival on September 29th. I can’t wait to find out what Jen will set on us but I know that I have about four varieties of dance shoe in my bag for any dance-task at hand (or foot).

It’s also the start of COCA classes today- which is not to say that it’s too late to register. I’m excited to be teaching both on and off-site- jazz, modern, ballet, move it, magic trunk, the list goes on. I love being able to wear so many hats. All of these hats and shoes…if the former weren’t metaphorical, I’d have a fashionista’s dream job! After all, Fashion Night Out is coming up this Thursday- both in NYC and here in St. Louis. (If you’re in the StL, head down to Neiman Marcus for the event, sponsored by PNC Arts Alive. Benefits go towards Dance St. Louis and the Laumeier Sculpture Park. For further information, click here. There might be a few statuesque dancers amongst the crowd, and let’s hope, a giant ice sculpture, hopefully in my likeness.)

I really wish I could wear that hat while teaching ballet. “Spot the orange pom pom!’ Photo shoot with Tom Byrne in Project Runway’s Pamela Ptak designs

Instead, I have my dream job and amidst all of the costume changes, one constant remains- the following of Terpsichore, Muse of Dance. I tip my hats to you, good lady. All of them.

Leave a Reply

