Poster Girl

Look at my famous friend! What a poser.

I’ve known Jessica Brown for a long long time. We were both members of the Regional Dance America Midwest Honors Company that performed at the International Ballet Competition in Jacksonville and we studied at Boston Ballet together. She’s been with Ballet Met since graduating high school in 2004.

One of my favorite memories of her is from about 2003: her lovely parents and I went out to breakfast and we for whatever reason had an extra large order of bacon, some of which we brought back to rehearsal to share with other dancers. “Hi ballerina! Want some bacon?”

JB and JR doing some duck-ified version of Swan Lake in Boston

BalletMet looks like they’re set up for a fantastic season. If you are near the Columbus area do yourself a favor and get a ticket for their production of ‘Dracula’. The pas de deux between Dracula and Mina- set to the music of Arvo Part- is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen onstage. I would love to travel there to see it again, and to buy a poster with my friend’s glorious image on it. Do you think she could autograph it in bacon grease for me? Congrats on all of your well-deserved success JB!

5 thoughts on “Poster Girl

  1. Yes, of course we would sing musicals the whole way! I have an audition on Sunday/Monday for Legally Blonde. We would rotate between that and Thoroughly Modern Millie. I’m singing Gimme Gimme (is that too cliché?). Sometime in the spring Cincy Ballet is doing a live performance/partnership with Peter Frampton. I think that’ll be really cool! And I looked at their audition page – I am officially too tall to be in their company. What the heck?! Oh well – at least I could still be a Rockette!!! 😀

  2. Pingback: Best Dance of the Web | BODIES NEVER LIE

  3. Pingback: Doug Varone and Dancers; Review | BODIES NEVER LIE

Leave a Reply

