Best Of; Missouri Arts? Really?

The list of the 2012 Missourians Choose ‘Best of’ the Arts via the Missouri Arts Council is out! Check it out here.

327_1923579301

I personally have never been to or heard of most of these- as many are outside of St. Louis and I sadly have not visited the Peabody yet. It looks to me like most of these picks come from local Magazine editors who will or course, pick something from their hometown. I’m sorry Rural Missouri, but there is no way that your ‘Ralph Foster museum’ (who the heck is that?) with the Chubby Hulk-Hogan-as-a-baby statue would beat out the St. Louis City Museum, or History Museum, or Art Museum. You can collect all the ‘Beverly Hillbillies’ memorabilia that you want, it still doesn’t beat the City Museum’s caves (in my humble opinion). I’d even take the science center or the Magic house over that. Heck, I’d take my Mom’s attic over that.

Here are some suggestions that I have for Missourians to check out this weekend:

1. STOMP at the Fabulous Fox– a wonderful and exhilarating display of rhythm, movement, and innovation…or at least they were the last time I saw them. I’m writing a review and will be there tonight. If you see me, say hello! Get more info and tickets here

798_2003534908

2. ‘Here Be Monsters’ opening reception of art by Lauren F. Adams at Aisle 1 Gallery. Here’s how it is described:

Here be Monsters brings together works from 2009 – 2012 that center on the pre-colonial period in America and the relationships between the colonizers, the natives, and the natural landscape. Adams’ studio sources include archival imagery such as paintings of Queen Elizabeth I and stylized watercolors of Algonquins on the coast of North Carolina in the 16th century. Lauren Adams’ artwork is an investigation in the fashion, figures, and propaganda of early American settlement, reviving archaic forms in an effort to make sense of America’s collective past.

Lost Colony, Queen Elizabeth

Lost Colony, Queen Elizabeth

Looks interesting to me. But I’m a sucker for anything with Monsters. It makes me feel right at home.

3.‘Movement for Kids’ A Night of Art benefitting the NAtional Children’s Cancer Society– Need I say more? No. But I will! Silent Auction, Live painting, and performances from Common Thread Contemporary Dance Company, Ashleyliane Dance Company, Motion Express, Wildwood Dance and Arts, the Movement Arts Center, and other local performers are all included on the bill. Anyone lucky enough (debatable) to know me knows that I hate and despise cancer but children’s cancer? Definitely a cause to stand up to, to dance for, and to support. More info here.

My Dad and I- dancing at my Grandparent's 50th wedding anniversary party

My Dad and I- dancing at my Grandparent’s 50th wedding anniversary party

Hope everyone is planning a wonderful weekend for yourself! I know that I am. x0- jess

Posted in Uncategorized

One thought on “Best Of; Missouri Arts? Really?

  1. Pingback: Tour for a Cure- Dancers Against Cancer | BODIES NEVER LIE

Leave a Reply

