Both ends of the Bargain

Jessica fit the battle of shower-woes and the walls came tumblin’ down…

I finally got around to doing the two weeks of laundry that was exploding out of my hamper. With all of that stuff rolling around, of course the dryer didn’t quite get everything warm and put-away ready. So I had to hang my towels on my shower curtain. Not a good idea.

Apparently, move-in ready in certain apartments (like mine) means that a rather bendy-in-the-middle bar simply wedged between the walls is an acceptable means of hanging will-be-wet fixtures. Can landlords really do that? I feel as if it should have been drilled somehow into the wall. If only it had fallen on me and I had then fallen and somehow injured myself and could SUE rather than it simply collapsing in the middle and plummeting to the floor with a pool of wet towels on top. If anything, the shower-rack collapse serves as a good reminded of the necessity of a strong core….and balance.

I’m surprised that it lasted this long. You put enough damp, heavy things on something weak in the middle and it’s a matter of time before it crumbles. (Yes, thin metaphor I know. I’m deep…like a Chicago pizza and just as cheesy) I tried getting it back up and it kept getting wedged tight on one side, the other barely making contact with the opposing wall. And it’s all about balance between those two polar opposites.

I think she's stuck between the desk and the ceiling. This is what happens with dancers in hotel rooms

I think she’s stuck between the desk and the ceiling. This is what happens with dancers in hotel rooms

I’m currently getting ready for the RAW Artist Showcase where I’m choreographing a piece. I am very happy with it so far and we just had the walk-through of the space last week. Not only do I get to present a new work but I also get a booth space where I will be selling some art work and passing out information about other upcoming shows. In other words, I need to get my act together and make some business cards as if I’m professional. Being both businesswoman and busy artist is a tough balance for me. I don’t have any problem with the creativity side, but how does one go about this marketing, branding kind of thing? How do you hold up both ends of a successful career? Also, will someone please come over and fix my shower?

Here are some pictures of the space for the February 21rst event. Ten dollar tickets– 30 artists of various mediums including yours truly. I think the venue –The Paragon on Locust– looks really cool, even if the wingless, smallish stage isn’t ideal for dance.  

IMG_8219

IMG_8220

IMG_8221

IMG_8218

Wishing everyone balance in life and career, in shower curtains and inner-ear! xo- jr

A little bit of cartoonish inspiration that I made for a friend. How tricky!

A little bit of cartoonish inspiration that I made for a friend. How tricky!

Leave a Reply

