New York Sh*ty

Harlem- by Lanston Hughes
What happens to a dream deferred?
      Does it dry up
      like a raisin in the sun?
      Or fester like a sore—
      And then run?
      Does it stink like rotten meat?
      Or crust and sugar over—
      like a syrupy sweet?
      Maybe it just sags
      like a heavy load.
      Or does it explode?
new york 088 new york 114 I am in New York (along with the rest of the world’s population, it seems).  I have already, in less than a week, been shoved, sneered at, stomped on, punched in the throat by a drunk girl at a gay bar, screamed at by a rather-queenish teacher at STEPS, abandoned by the G train in Brooklyn, and completely embraced by this wild and wonderful place.

I will say that in the few moments of (sheer horror) having to pull out a map and scan it like some kind of tourist- how embarrassing!- I have been asked if I needed help by both men and women, young and old, but mostly from people who seem…. less-than-rich. I guess that having money means that you can buy your way out of general politeness and compassion here.

I have incredible stories and pictures to share with you when this trip has concluded; stories of unbelievably bad art shows and gorgeous exhibits, the studios I have visited, the art that I’ve been able to take part in, the interviews, the meetings,the museums, the parties, the gatherings with dear old friends and the weird people I’ve met, the expensive clothes that I’ve tried on ‘just for fun’ (I could move here for the shopping alone) ,and how the store clerks saw right through my terrible excuse for toting them off to the dressing room, the embarrassing place that I pick up a daily coffee, and the shows. Just this little bit of time has given me so much to think about for my future– if I could be more successful here, if I would drown in the sea of better qualified and chic-er people, if I already have all that I want in St. Louis. Questions to ponder, but not for now…

Still left on this trip: I’m seeing Romeo and Juliet with Marcelo Gomez, the dress rehearsal for Romeo and Juliet, and Le Corsaire from ABT, Kinky Boots the musical! MOMA, the Pier, a dance-discussion at the Flea, and a visit with Katie to the Doughnut Plant. I will share all of this when I get back (and can download the pictures from my camera) and you can enjoy vicariously through my articulate word-choice. But the doughnuts, well, you have to be here to truly experience it.

New York craziness in the past: Anti-Contact the Musical!   Clothes make the man, fat suits make the ballerina

More Marcelo Gomez: When I Have Fears, David Hallberg Serial Killer

My Version- New York
What happens to a dream deferred?
 
Does it drain a little bit more each day
like a bad job?
Does it gather like a ballerina’s blister
and then pop?
Does it stink like Chinatown?
Or do you wait forever and then it decides to stop running
like trains heading downtown?
Maybe it gives you a dizzying list
of things to see, accomplish, and do
 
or does it come true?
new york 147 new york 148 new york 145 new york 106
 
See you soon- xo- Jess

2 thoughts on “New York Sh*ty

  1. Pingback: 6 Things I learned from Marcelo Gomez at ABT | BODIES NEVER LIE

  2. Pingback: ABT’s Le Corsaire; A Pirate Reviews | BODIES NEVER LIE

Leave a Reply

