Waltzing into 2014

I hope that everyone had wonderful, gluttonous, restful, and other adjectives holidays. We at Bodies Never Lie (meaning me) certainly did. Who else was sadly bored to tendus by ‘The Hobbit DoS’ and all of their ugly feet?

I’m personally thrilled to welcome in 2014. Two words; health insurance. Three more: I have it. I could just sing from the rooftops. But I  would never be so cruel to my neighbors, so I’ll just stick to walking turned out, in true ballerina style,  on the balcony.

IMG_9144

It made me laugh when I saw a neighbor pass by and give those footprints a truly confused ‘what-creature-made-THAT?’ look.

When I was six, the sidewalk in front of my childhood home was cemented and I was given one simple command,’; Don’t step in it’. What did I do?

I waltzed right through. I left more than a few tiny, defiant, footprints that are still visible today. Good job, me.

IMG_6202

At least in my own experience, nothing really memorable comes from taking the easy way out.

Lives of great men all remind us, we can make our lives sublime, and, departing, leave behind us, footprints on the sands of time.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Aren’t you proud of me, that I haven’t succumbed to using the words ‘journey’ or pathway’ at all during this post? Life is more of a waltz on a wet concrete sidewalk anyways. The trick is to leave a mark without getting stuck.

kristin spin

*This is my beautiful friend, Kristin Jones, dancer and teacher with Kim Robards Dance in Colorado.

I have a good feeling about 2014. Let’s hope that all of our plans, goals, and legs start, continue, or don’t stop turning out.

Leave a Reply

