Contemporary Dance Bingo

It’s totally normal to make-your-own bingo game on an old FedEx envelope while riding the train to Brooklyn, isn’t it?

IMG_8654

Mind the rats..I mean, gap

And speaking of normal, I’ve been attending regular class- ballet, body conditioning, contemporary, and one unfortunate encounter with Samurai swordplay. It’s wonderful to have dancing, not just teaching or thinking about dancing, part of my normal life again.  And I have found some really wonderful teachers with cool methods, corrections, choreography.

However…

Is it just me or does a lot of contemporary look the same these days? I think there are always ‘trends’ in dance and these seem to be the norm in current contemporary work.

IMG_0098

Take this handy checklist with you to any performance or class to see if it is contemporary or not.  D-A-N-C-E, con-tem-por-ary Bin-go! No prizes.

I am not judging, just observing. I have used almost every one of these in my own choreography and class. Well, except socks. Never socks! Unless you’re doing class with Contemporary Eric in this video– which I know is old, but never gets old.

3 thoughts on “Contemporary Dance Bingo

  1. This totally brightened my attitude on a soggy morning! Also, thanks for the video link – LOL (literally).

  2. Pingback: It’s Showtime | BODIES NEVER LIE

Leave a Reply

