It’s Showtime

Tonight is the night! The opening of the 2016 Master’s Dance Concert at NYU Steinhardt.

concert

For the next three days, I will join my classmates and NYU alumni cast in the show as we premiere 16 original works. I was cast in three pieces. I am both opening and closing the show. And right in the middle. It’s like a big dancing Jessica sandwich. Yum.

I’m going into this run of shows nervous and excited. It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve danced choreography of this caliber, maybe not since this residency with Uri Sands. Each piece has its own set of joys and challenges.

Piece 1- lyrical ballet:

  • challenge- be on my leg and access turn out.
  • Joy- it feels really good on my body and these costumes!

 carly-hill

Piece 2- Contemporary:

  • challenge- dancing in socks! You know how I feel about socks. Also, lots of ground work. And  a low center part pony tail makes my head look like a perfectly round pumpkin.
  •  Joy- Getting to throw myself around is sort of cathartic. I also love the music and the lighting in this one.

Piece 3- Contemporary Ballet:

  • challenge: being in a cast with 5 amazing Tisch dancers (who are 19 and 20 years old) and one other incredible dancer from Steinhardt, not dying because it’s hard and fast, wearing a sports bra (crunches time).
  • Joy- DANCING! The snowball fight onstage! Also, we wear black lipstick and dramatic smoky eye and it’s been really fun for me this past week NOT taking any of this off upon leaving the theatre and walking home with a face full of goth makeup. Have I gotten even one weird look on the streets of New York? Nope.

I’ve been so lucky to work with three amazing diverse choreographers with a specific vision and incredible process. It’s going to be an amazing show and I’m proud to be a part of it. Tickets and further information here.

 

Leave a Reply

